When you Promote a device you are setting it as Primary Device on your account and automatically downgrading the previous Primary Device.

 

What's the use of this operation?

If your previous Primary Device is damaged, lost or stolen, setting another device to Primary will allow you to authorize new devices in your account, if you wish so.

 

Important Notice: depending on your subscription you may be unable to have more than one device authorized.